Happy Friday

Hello Friday.  You took your time this week!

It is lunchtime here and I’m really looking forward to the weekend.  Feeling tired and ready for some relaxing (less than 2.5 hours to go).  My list of things that made me happy this week are as follows:

  • Celebrating Mark’s birthday last weekend in the Garden Route.  We had an amazing time and cannot wait to visit again.
  • Eased ourselves back into the week on Monday with biltong and wine before dinner.
  • Rain
  • My husband and how he just gets me.  With some people I sometimes feel I have to justify stuff but I never have to with Mark.  He just accepts me for who I am, flaws and all!
  • Pizza for dinner on Tuesday evening.  I needed a treat after a mortifying moment – tried to climb into the wrong car after work.  Thankfully my colleague and her son were understanding.  Hubby thought it was hilarious 🙂
  • Losing myself in a book.  Finished book no. 23 for this year.
  • Morgan Taylor nail polish – going to use my sparkly one for this weekend.
  • Clinique goodies.  Treated myself to some much needed products and got a gift with my purchase in a groovy bag.
  • Yoghurt with honey
  • Today I’m using a hand cream which just smells amazing.  This was the last thing that my Gran gave me before she passed away last year.  Whenever she visited she would always have a gift or a treat in her handbag.  I’ve put off using this – it was the last gift I got from her and just felt extra special.  It was just sitting in a drawer for some time now but this morning I packed it in and brought it to work to put on during the day.

What is on your list this week?

xx

16 thoughts on “Happy Friday

  1. TheBethMN says:

    That is so wonderful you have a husband who just understands you! I feel the same way about my husband. It’s such a blessing! What a wonderful gift you have from your late grandmother, I can understand waiting awhile to use it. ❤

    Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      It is such a blessing Beth! I can be having a really stressful day and Mark just makes it better in seconds. I’m glad you can relate 🙂
      I’ve just put on some of the handcream now – really pleased I started using it.

      Like

  2. Charlotte says:

    Awww I love that you saved the hand cream from your gramma ❤ now whenever you wear it, you can think of her. Xoxo

    Omg getting into someone else's car?? Totally something I would do myself 🙂 thank god for an understanding spouse with a good sense of humor!

    Xoxo and hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      You are right – I think back to the day she gave it to me each time I put some on. It was the last time she visited before her stroke – the last time we saw her healthy.
      I was so embarrassed trying to get in the wrong car – and the weird thing is I tried to get in the driver’s side (and wasn’t planning on driving). Hubby was parked a few metres away watching this – I could write a book on embarrassing moments and situations I get myself into!
      Hope your week is a good one 🙂
      xoxo

      Like

  3. Emily says:

    Celebrations, pizza, and books…it sounds like you had such a great week. I almost got into someone else’s car once too lol. I was so embarrassed, but it was so funny too.

    Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      It is such a weird feeling – realising you this is not your car!
      I just scuttled off towards ours with a red face wondering where my head was at!
      We had a laugh afterwards and my colleague said the next day it has happened to them before 🙂

      Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      I’m so glad I’m using it. Even the name makes me smile “Bye-Bye stress”. It is a soothing smell which just reminds me so much of my Gran.
      I love books and just getting lost in a story SO much.

      Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      It is a great flavour combination – sometimes if I have plain yoghurt I’ll add my own honey just to flavour it. I gave up sugar in my tea over 2 years ago (it was so difficult) and sometimes add a bit of honey if I’m craving something sweet 🙂

      Like

  4. Lindsay says:

    You and me both have been blessed by some pretty awesome dudes, you know that? Just out of curiosity, how long have you two been together?

    That’s so incredibly special you carry pieces of your Grandmother with you. How special is it that you had all this time to cherish her just that much more….

    Here’s to a speedier, smooth-sailing week my dear. xo

    Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      Mark and I started going out in September 2002 – next month is 15 years 🙂 We’ve been married for 10 – will be 11 years in December this year.
      So glad you have also been blessed and have a great hubby you can rely on 🙂
      I’m glad I started using the last gift from my Gran because she would have wanted me to enjoy it – not feel sad each time I looked at it.
      xoxo

      Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      Got the comment – thanks! WordPress sometimes asks that comments get approved – yesterday was a holiday so I was offline.

      Like

Leave a Reply

