Why I’m happier logged off of Facebook

Each Monday when I plan my week ahead I jot down a few goals.  They include visiting the gym, drinking water and not just tea, making time to read, eating healthily and having two FB-free days.  I list these things every week because I know if I stick to them I’m a much happier person.  Gym, water, relaxing and eating well – yes all pretty obvious.

But for alot of people giving up social media for two days a week isn’t on their to-do list.  The reason it is a priority on mine is because I’ve realised how much calmer and downright happier I feel when I’m living in the actual moment instead of trying to document it to an audience online.  I feel more peaceful when I’m enjoying a weekend and just being there rather than reading what everyone is doing on theirs.

I’m not running down FB – I still log on most days and catch up, like, comment and enjoy seeing what others are up to but I don’t feel the need to be online as much as I used to.  I also find myself posting so much less.  It may sound weird but I don’t feel like sharing as much as I used to.

Yesterday I logged on, checked in and instantly regretted it.  I hadn’t posted in a while and could have continued as a quiet visitor but felt like adding something – no idea why.  However, unlike when I blog or catch up on other blogger’s news, I didn’t feel like I’d added anything to my day.  In fact I probably lost a chunk of time staring mindlessly at my phone.  For no reason.

Over time I’ve realised that on FB you get those who just collect comments and likes but never reciprocate to anybody else online.  Then get snarky when you don’t like or comment after a while.  Or people who like to air everything they are going through online.  Or those who constantly post every few hours with quotes or thoughts that are guaranteed to get a reaction.  Then update “don’t like it, don’t read it” posts when they get a reaction.  Or those who proudly and constantly state how smug they are to be anti-social whilst using social media to post this.

I’m tired.  My timeline is tired and when I discovered the unfollow option a while ago I found that to be more of a highlight than logging on and catching up!

What about you?  What are your views on FB and do you ever take a social media break?

xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Why I’m happier logged off of Facebook

  1. Charlotte says:

    Oh, my goodness… No joke, last night I had a terrible bout of insomnia (stress about this whole house hunting thing, I’m sure) and I kept thinking about writing a post called “Why I stopped sharing my life on Facebook.” I’m SO MUCH HAPPIER when I step away from this platform in particular. I dunno why, but I think it’s just all a little too… negative? In my face? I miss the days when people weren’t humble bragging or airing ALL of their dirty laundry, every hour of the day. It’s exhausting, all of it. I’m so much happier on Instagram, where drama doesn’t appear to exist as prevalently 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      What is with this need to overshare on FB? Sometimes it is so blatantly in ones face – I’ve seen my timeline clogged up at times with someone posting constantly (where do you find the time??) and just waiting for a reaction from their family and friends. And why air dirty laundry like it is a newfound hobby? I’m glad others can relate because spending less time on there has decreased my stress levels and made me more mindful of being in the moment. Good luck with the househunting – so exciting 🙂

      Like

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    I am a social media and FB addict, and honestly think my life would be happier and more productive if I gave it up or at least cut back! I waste so much time scrolling the feeds. I also think social media makes us compare to others and think they have more than we do, are happier than we are, etc. I love your idea of taking some days off of FB! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      Thank you – so far taking 2 days off a week is making me more mindful.
      I agree that social media often makes us compare our lives with others. But I’ve realised people can often highlight what is great in their lives and minimise the not-so-happy moments. Our timelines are only showing us what others want us to see – sometimes there are negative updates but not nearly as often as the “I’m so blessed” posts. Another thing I’ve realised is how there will always be someone who just cannot be happy for others. There is no need to leave a sarcastic comment – if you cannot be bothered to like or comment (politely) why not just keep scrolling? I see lovely posts of people I know receive silly remarks and comments and I just think how unnecessary it is.

      Like

  3. kathy @ more coffee, less talky says:

    I think people take social media way too seriously; as in many take what they read to heart. I have a friend who got so riled up about some FB “debate” that he “quit” FB and didn’t talk to anyone for months. MONTHS. Like, calm down, dude; this is THE INTERNET; what does their opinion matter?

    I take social media for what it is – a way to pass time and entertainment. I see a lot of garbage that’s posted about a lot of things with which I don’t agree but I have a choice to read it or move on…I choose to move on…that’s the thing about social media – people feel they have to read everything when in fact, there’s a little “x” to close the window or just scroll away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      I’ve seen some debates online and try not to get involved. I’ve seen how upset some people have gotten so quickly 😦
      You have a healthy attitude to social media – a way to pass time and entertainment.
      Moving on or clicking “x” isn’t what everyone does and I think that is what leads to alot of unhappiness. I’ve found unfollowing negative people has freed my timeline up and when I have an ‘online’ day I have more positive posts to read.
      Thank you for the visit 🙂

      Like

    • https://my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

      I enjoy seeing what my best friend overseas is up to on FB – it is one of the advantages as I don’t see her often. But unneccessary posts and comments (on both FB and Twitter) make me wonder if I should be offline less.

      Like

Leave a Reply

